Studying in Europe / ERASMUS+

What is Erasmus+?

Erasmus+ is the European Union programme for education, training, youth and sport that entered into force on 1 January 2014 and has three key actions:

KA1) Mobility of individuals for learning;
KA2) Cooperation for innovation and exchange of good practices;
KA3) Support for policy reform.

Student mobility may occur within KA1.

The Programme is managed by the European Commission at the European level and by the Erasmus+ National Agency at the country level.

What is an Erasmus+ Period of Study Abroad?

The student undertakes part of the study programme they have enrolled in at the Faculty of Sciences (BSc, Integrated Master, MSc and PhD) at other higher education institution based in a EU country, Switzerland (specific conditions for participation) Turkey, Norway, Iceland, Liechtenstein or Macedonia for a minimum period of 3 months (90 days) and a maximum of 12 months.

The study plan to be held during Erasmus is registered in the Learning agreement for Studies, which must be approved by Teachers, called Departmental Erasmus Coordinators. After return, the Faculty of Sciences recognises the student's academic outcomes as long as the study programme is successfully completed and is in accordance with what was previously approved by FCUL.